Regional Faculty for Advancing Practice – Midlands

Sign up to our stakeholder database if you would like to receive updates from the Faculty

For any other queries or to unsubscribe from our mailing list, please email us at

Aims of the Faculty

The regional faculties for Advancing Practice (AP) have been developed and established to drive forward change in advanced practice as outlined in the NHS Long Term Plan (2019) and People Plan 2020/21.

The aims are to increase return on advanced practice investments, drive modernised transformed pathways of care, and support improvements in both access to and the quality of patient care. These will help to drive workforce transformation and modernising agenda for advanced practice roles across the system.

Through our stakeholder engagement process one of our key aims in the Midlands is to guide organisations on the implementation of advanced practice where organisations might be in a developmental phase of activity.

The Midlands Regional Faculty for Advancing Practice was established in December 2020. Since then, we have created a staffing infrastructure comprising of seven posts, alongside an additional nine Training Programme Directors (TPDs) and a Programme Lead for Primary Care. Faculty team members have been developing the Faculty, building relationships and developing initiatives to highlight the value of an advanced practice workforce within our systems and provider organisations, in collaboration with our regional universities.

Faculty Vision and Values

The Faculty’s vision is focused on Creating and enabling transformative partnerships to develop, embed, and sustain advanced practice education and innovation to improve patient care and outcomes across the Midlands region.

The Midlands Faculty have established four core values

  • Making a difference
  • Fostering collaboration
  • Working inclusively
  • Acting with honesty and integrity

Map of the Midlands Region

The Midlands regional Faculty for Advancing Practice covers both the East Midlands and West Midlands together across the region’s 11 Integrated Care Boards (ICSs):